• Saturday , 16 November 2019

13 Irish Architects Nominated for Mies van der Rohe Award


The European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe announced the list of 356 works competing for the 2017 European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award. “The nominated works are stimulating, innovative and have improved the existing conditions of their sites. They push boundaries and have set new standards based on strong collaborative and participatory strategies.” said Ivan Blasi, Coordinator of the Prize.

Thirteen Irish practices have made the short-list. Nine nominated Irish buildings are;

  • Folding House Ireland Cork – A2 Architects + TTT – (thirtythreetrees) Landscape Architects
  • Roscommon Civic Offices – ABK Architects
  • dlrLexicon Central Library and Cultural Centre – Carr Cotter Naessens Architects
  • Waterford Fire Station – McCullough Mulvin Architects
  • Model School Inchicore – Donaghy + Dimond
  • Merrion Cricket Pavilion – TAKA
  • St. Angela’s College Cork – O’Donnell + Tuomey
  • Hazel Lane Mews Houses – Dublin Design Studio
  • Brick House, Dalkey Avenue – de Blacam and Meagher Architects

Folding House: A2 Architects. Image by Marie-Louise Halpenny.
Folding House: A2 Architects. Image by Marie-Louise Halpenny.

Also nominated is the Fishing Hut in Hampshire by Níall McLaughlin Architects; the University of Greenwich London by heneghan peng architects; athe Faaborg Harbour Bath by JDSA/Julien De Smedt + URBAN AGENCY; and the Central European University in Budapest by O’Donnell + Tuomey Architects.

The Fundació Mies van der Rohe was created in 1983 with the aim of reconstructing the German Pavilion that Ludwig Mies van der Rohe created for the 1929 International Exhibition. The foundation fosters debate on and awareness of themes related to contemporary architecture and urban planning, as well as encouraging studies on the work of Ludwig Mies van der Rohe and on the Modern Movement.

The Fishing Hut, Hampshire: Níall McLaughlin Architects. The Fishing Hut, Hampshire: Níall McLaughlin Architects.

The Jury members will shortlist 40 projects and select the 5 finalist works which they will visit in April. The process will culminate with the Award Ceremony on May 26 at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion, marking several days of Open Doors throughout Europe during which sites of the shortlisted works will be open for visits to the general public. The RIAI are a National Architecture Association nominator and individual nominators in Ireland are Shane O’Toole and Dr Sandra O’Connell.


Related Posts