The demolition of Waterford City’s North Quays is due to take place in the coming weeks. As one of the most debated parts of the city, countless proposals, ideas and concepts have been drawn up over the years as to what should become of the quay. The series of warehouses, prefabricated buildings and 14 grain silos have been left abandoned since the early 1990s.
The former R&H Hall mill stands as the centrepiece, and has done so since 1905. A preservation order has been placed on the building due to its unique concrete construction style by François Hennebique, only the second such type in Ireland. Originally standing alone in the wharf, it made a distinct feature in the topography of the city. The adjacent sites quickly became occupied with additional warehouses and developments throughout the 20th century.
While there is huge potential for the North Quays in the future, it remains a relevant part of Waterford’s history. The following are a collection of photographs from a recent site visit, before this industrial landscape disappears.