• Monday , 16 December 2019

Irish Architecture 2016: The AAI Awards


Irish Architecture 2016 is the publication of the 31st AAI Awards.

Copies are available for purchase from the AAI Online bookshop.

Ireland’s longest running awards programme, the AAI Awards, are the only internationally peer reviewed architecture awards in Ireland that publicly publish the critical discourse which takes place among the assessors adjudicating the awards. As a consequence the awards give the public an unprecedented insight into the critical conversations that shape the quality of our built environment and future heritage. Historically these awards have been the first to recognize the emerging talents that have gone on to become the established names of an increasingly sophisticated and internationally recognised culture of architecture in Ireland.

The intention of the AAI awards is to encourage higher standards of architecture throughout the country, to recognise projects of any scale and type that make a contribution to Irish architecture culture, and to inform the public of emerging directions in contemporary architecture.

Since 2000, a 5-person jury comprising of an architectural critic, a foreign architect, two Irish architects and a distinguished non-architect have judged the awards. The composition of the jury ensures a balance between an international perspective and an understanding of the particular context in which Irish architects work

Critic: Ellis Woodman
Distinguished Non-architect: Isabel Nolan
Foreign Assessor: Marie Jose Van Hee
Irish Assessor: Michelle Fagan
Irish Assessor: Simon Walker

Downes Medal
Inchicore Model School, Inchicore, Dublin 10 – Donaghy + Dimond Architects

Arena for Learning, UTEC, Lima, Peru – Grafton Architects
House at Maghera, Castlewellan, Co.Down – McGonigle McGrath
dlrLexicon, Central Library and Cultural Centre, Moran Park, Dún Laoghaire – Carr Cotter Naessens Architects
Bealalaw House, Myshall, Co.Carlow – Ryan W. Kennihan Architects
Doolin Coastguard Station, Doolin, Co.Clare – Dominic Stevens Architects with Dorman Architects

Special Mentions

‘Floating Plane, Hidden Garden’, Ranelagh, Dublin 6 – McCullough Mulvin Architects
Farmhouse project, Co. Meath – Lawrence and Long Architects
Reconciliation Rooms at St. Teresa’s Church, Clarendon Street, Dublin 2 – John McLaughlin Architects
Athlone Community College, Athlone, Co. Westmeath – McGarry Ní Éanaigh Architects
Northlight, Booterstown, Dublin 6 – David Flynn Architects
Learning Pavilion – Robert Bourke Architects
St Patrick’s Park Tearoom, St.Patrick’s Park, Dublin 8 – TAKA Architects
New Hostel Building, Killarney, Co.Kerry – Gottstein Architects
Hazel Lane Mews Houses, Clontarf, Dublin 3 – Dublin Design Studio
The One Building, Grand Canal Street Lower, Dublin 2 – NBK Architects

Maurice Craig Student Awards
Commendations were awarded to the following two entries:
Saltworks: the Poetics of the Technical Object – Sarah Carroll
Rewilding the City – Andrew Howell

A limited number of great value bundles of this edition with previous editions are also available from the AAI Online bookshop.

Related Posts