• Monday , 18 November 2019

Eight Projects by Irish Architects Compete for Mies van der Rohe 2015

The European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe have announced the list of 420 projects competing for the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award 2015. 27% of the proposals deal with Housing while 24% are Cultural facilities. 11% are connected to Education, 5% to Offices and the other 33% include mostly Sport, Commercial, Governmental, Transport and Urban typologies.

Initiated in 1987 after an agreement between the European Commission and the Barcelona City Hall, the €60,000 prize is the highest award in European architecture and is awarded biennially to works completed within the previous two years. The principal objectives are to recognise and commend excellence in the field of architecture and to draw attention to the important contribution of European professionals in the development of new ideas and technologies and of the clients who support them.

Eight projects by Irish architects have been selected to compete for the 2015 Mies van der Rohe Award – five in Ireland, 2 in the UK and 1 in Norway.

The eight projects are (in alphabetical order):

Airfield Evolution, Solearth Architects (Lead Architects), Eunan McLoughlin Architects, PKA Architects and Dermot Foley Landscape Architecture


Bishop Edward King Chapel, Niall McLaughlin Architects


Coláiste Ailigh by McGarrry Ní Éanaigh Architects


The Cow House by Michael Kelly and Dan Costelloe


Pulp Press by A2 Architects with John Gerrard


Saw Swee Hock Student Centre, LSE by O’Donnell + Tuomey Architects


University of Limerick, Medical School, Student Housing, Piazza and Pergola by Grafton Architects


Waterford Museum by Waterford County Architects


Related Posts