• Friday , 6 December 2019

Minister Presents Prizes to Glasnevin Competition Winner and Shortlist

Jimmy Deenihan, TD, Minister for Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, presented the winner of the RIAI Glasnevin 1916 Centenary Chapel Competition, O’Daly Architects, and the shortlisted practices with their prizes in the RIAI. Speaking at the event on 30 January, Minister Deenihan said: “Architecture is an important and enduring reflection of our society. I welcome the sustained commitment of Glasnevin Trust to ensure that their developments are characterised by high quality architecture. I look forward to seeing the 1916 Centenary Chapel project develop and progress over the coming months.”

Irish practice O’Daly Architects has been chosen as the winner of an international architectural competition to design a Chapel to commemorate the 232 people who died in the 1916 Easter Week Rising and who were interred in Glasnevin Cemetery.  131 were buried in a mass grave on the site chosen for this chapel in the St. Paul’s cemetery area of Glasnevin Cemetery, while the remainder were interred in family graves throughout the cemetery.

The competition was organised by the RIAI on behalf of the Glasnevin Trust, part of the non-denominational Dublin Cemeteries Committee, the body which administers Glasnevin Cemetery. It is planned to have the project completed for, and officially opened, during the Easter 2016 Centenary celebrations. Commenting on the competition John Green, Chairman of Glasnevin Trust, said: “In collaborating with the RIAI our ambition was that this architectural competition would produce a striking memorial to those people who lost their lives in the 1916 Easter Rising and were buried in Glasnevin, while creating a spiritual, contemplative and peaceful space in modern times for those who come to mourn and grieve for the recently deceased. The result, from our perspective, has been spectacularly successful, not just in the winner it has produced, but in the breadth and creativity of all 128 entrants. Truly this process has already shown tremendous respect to those people whom we set out to commemorate.”


Winner O’Daly Architects
[pictured from l-r, RIAI President Robin Mandal, Tony O’Daly and Emer O’Daly of Daly Architects, Minister Jimmy Deenihan and John Green of Glasnevin Trust]


Second Place: David Jameson, MRIAI; Paul Fox, MRIAI; Rose Bonner, MRIAI
[l-r: David Jameson, Minister Jimmy Deenihan and Paul Fox]


Highly Commended: Cian Deegan, MRIAI, and Alice Casey, TAKA, Dublin
[l-r: Minister Jimmy Deenihan, Alice Casey and Cian Deegan]


Highly Commended: MOLA Architecture, Dublin
[l-r: Sean O’Laoire, Minister Jimmy Deenihan and Ralph Bingham]


Highly Commended: Weston Williamson + Partners, London
[Minister Jimmy Deenihan and James Dunn of Weston Williamson + Partners]

Web_KM,_JD,_RM,_JG Web_Chairman_Des_McMahon

Also pictured at the Competition Announcement in the RIAI were: (picture on left) Kathryn Meghen, RIAI Asistant Director; Minister Jimmy Deenihan, RIAI President Robin Mandal and RIAI Director John Graby as well as (picture on right) Chairman of the Jury, Des McMahon, FRIAI.

For more information see also: O’Daly Architects Win Competition for Glasnevin 1916 Centenary Chapel

The Judging Panel was made up of: 

Des McMahon, (Chairperson), Gilroy McMahon Architects
Paddy Fletcher, A&D Wejchert Architects
John Green, Chairman, Glasnevin Trust
John Watson, Board Member, Glasnevin Trust
George McCullough, Chief Executive, Glasnevin Trust

Related Posts