• Sunday , 17 November 2019

Irish Architect to receive Presidential Distinguished Service Award


Former President of the RIBA Angela Brady is to receive the Presidential Distinguished Service Award for the Irish Abroad for 2016 for her contribution to Arts, Culture & Sport.

Angela Brady (UK)
Angela Brady is a Dublin-born architect, TV broadcaster and former President of the Royal Institute of British Architects.  She is currently Director of London based Brady Mallalieu Architects.  She was made a British Council Ambassador to Vietnam for Innovation and Design and has also worked with the British Council in the Near East. Angela promotes architecture on TV, radio and in publications.She is very active in the Irish community, particularly among the business networks, promoting Irish business and design talent.  Ms Brady also made a significant contribution to the success in Britain of the Year of Irish Design 2015.

The Minister for Foreign Affairs and Trade, Mr Charles Flanagan, T.D., has announced the names of the recipients of the Presidential Distinguished Service Award for the Irish Abroad for 2016.

The Presidential Distinguished Service Award was established by the Government following the 2011 Global Irish Economic Forum as a means to recognise the contribution of members of the Irish diaspora and the first awards were made in 2012.

Nominations are made by Irish communities abroad through Ireland’s network of Diplomatic Missions.

Announcing the recipients of the 2016 Awards, Minister Flanagan said:

“I am delighted that once again we have the opportunity to recognise some of the finest members of our diaspora for their contribution to Ireland, the Irish community abroad and Ireland’s reputation.  In the ever changing world we live in, this remarkable group of individuals have been a constant beacon for Ireland and the values we hold dear. 

“This year, for the first time Awards will be presented in the category of Science, Technology and Innovation, reflecting both the important place of this sector in our dynamic economy and Ireland’s track record of achievement in this area.  Receiving an Award in this category is Garret FitzGerald who, in his role as a globally recognised research physician and scientist, has continued to be an active member of our diaspora and is closely engaged in facilitating scientific endeavour in Ireland.  

“This year’s recipients also include the late Sir Terry Wogan who will receive a posthumous award.  Through his long and universally acclaimed broadcasting career, he always reflected all that is good about Ireland and the Irish community in Britain.” 

Minister for Diaspora Affairs and International Development, Joe McHugh T.D, added:

“This year’s Presidential Distinguished Service Award recipients signify the breadth and richness of our diaspora.  They include those working with the most marginalised and vulnerable, those who have become the voice for those who have none.

“Through their work as community activists for many years in New York, Brendan Fay and Kathleen Walsh D’Arcy have secured rights and recognition for LGBT members of the Irish community.  And, in the very challenging environment of Sierra Leone, 

Sr. Mary Sweeney has worked tirelessly for local communities and most recently she has played a significant role in coordinating a response to the Ebola epidemic.”

The full list of recipients of Presidential Distinguished Service Awards in 2016 are:

Arts, Culture and Sport
Angela Brady (UK)
Terry Wogan (Deceased – UK) – presented posthumously

Business and Education
Robert Kearns (Canada)
Gerald Lawless (UAE)

Charitable Works
Norman McClelland (US)

Irish Community Support

Nora Higgins (UK)
Brendan Fay (US)
Kathleen Walsh D’Arcy (US)

Peace, Reconciliation and Development
Martin Von Hildebrand (Colombia)
Sr. Mary Sweeney (Sierra Leone)

Science, Technology and Innovation
Garret FitzGerald (US)

The Awards will be presented later this year by President Higgins.

Related Posts