• Tuesday , 12 November 2019

RIAI Gold Medal for Architecture 2007-2009


The RIAI Triennial Gold Medal is the highest accolade that a building can be awarded in Ireland for the design of a building of exceptional merit completed within a three-year-old period. The purpose of the award is to encourage the development of architecture in Ireland and to give public recognition to architects of distinction.

The Gold Medal has been awarded since 1934. The awards are held three to five years after completion so buildings can be judged in a mature state. The period for this year’s Gold Medal is 2007-2009.  Only projects designed by Registered RIAI Architects will be considered for the Gold Medal Award.

Irish architects are winning awards for their work around the world and the Irish public should be made aware and appreciate the world-class buildings that we have on our doorstep. Buildings are judged not just on their design but on brief interpretation and how they address their context, whether historic, urban or rural. By promoting and producing high quality buildings, architects are making a very tangible contribution to the social, economic and cultural life of the country.


         RIAI Gold Medal Winner 2004 – 2006,  Poustinia

Previous recipients of the Gold Medal include Busáras by Michael Scott, St Aengus Church in Burt by Liam McCormick, the Currency Centre by Sam Stephenson, Birr Community School by Peter and Mary DoyleRanelagh Multi-Denominational School by O’Donnell + Tuomey and Croke Park Development by Des McMahon.

How to Enter
Entry for thGold Medal is online and free of charge. Entrants must be Registered Architects. The deadline for submission of a building is Monday 5 December 2016. The medal will be awarded to the winner at a ceremony in the RIAI.

For further information email;
Claudia O’Dwyer
RIAI Annual Awards, Medals & Competitions  www.irisharchitectureawards.ie

Related Posts