• Friday , 15 November 2019

RIAI Irish Architecture Awards 2015


The RIAI Irish Architecture Awards are in their 26th year and the main focus in the Institute’s remit campaign to communicate to the public the value that contemporary architecture makes to society. The awards coincide with Ireland’s Year of Design, ID2015 of which the RIAI is a key partner.

Earlier this year, the RIAI invited their registered Members to submit projects for the annual RIAI Irish Architecture Awards 2015 – there were 120 entries. Awards will be made in over 16 different categories – from Public Buildings to Domestic Extensions and from Housing to Healthcare. There are also awards for Best Emerging Practice, Sustainability and Universal Design.

The Shortlist of 36 Projects is decided by the Jury and the RIAI is delighted to announce its Public Choice campaign. The public has the chance now to participate and vote for their favourite project from the shortlist.

You can cast your vote in the Public Choice Award here: irisharchitectureawards.ie/public-choice/. Online voting will be live from 27 May until 17 June at midday. The Awards Ceremony evening will be held on June 18 at the  Woodquay Venue, Dublin –  where the results will be announced and presented.

The main Jury for the 2015 RIAI Irish Architecture Awards are:
Ali Grehan – City Architect at Dublin City Council – Chair
Giulia Vallone – Senior Executive Architect, Cork County Council
Joe Lawrence  – Lawrence and Long Architects
Máire Henry – Director dhb Architects
Stephen Best  – Senior Lecturer, School of Architecture, Dublin Institute of Technology
Steve Larkin – Steve Larkin Architects

Separate Juries are established for: 
Emerging Practice – Architecture Ireland
Best Sustainable – RIAI Sustainability Task Force
Best Universal Design – Universal Design Taskforce, CEUD and invited juror Ed Steinfeld (Chair)

The following projects have been shortlisted across award categories and all feature in the Public Choice Award.

30 Herbert Street  –  Plus Architecture
Alma Road – ODOS Architects
Athlone Community College  – McGarry Ní Éanaigh Architects
Blackrock Quartet  – McCullough Mulvin Architects
CK House –  Praxis Architecture
Dalkey Heritage Centre and Town Hall – Dun Laoghaire Rathdown Architects Department
Density in the Historic Suburbs (Two New Villas for Monkstown) – Shaffrey Associates
dlr Lexicon – Carr Cotter & Naessens
Doolin Coastguard Station – Dominic Stevens Architects with Dorman Architects
Eaton Square Lucy –  Jones Architect
Emerging Practice: – John McLaughlin Architects
Emerging Practice:  – PG Architects
Emerging Practice:  – praxis architecture
Emerging Practice:  – Strand Architects
Fire Restaurant and Lounge at the Mansion House – Seán Harrington Architects
Gate Lodge –  Donaghy + Dimond  Architects
House A & B Wellington Lane – Darmody Architecture
House on a Tight Site – Bone O’Donnell Architects
Islands Garbhan – Doran Architects
Kavanagh Country – Sheridan Woods Architects + Urban Planners
Keeper House & Lodge – Scott Tallon Walker Architects
Liberty House – Paul Keogh Architects
Mater Misericordiae University Hospital – Scott Tallon Walker Architects
Merrion Cricket Pavilion – TAKA Architects
Model School Inchicore – Donaghy + Dimond  Architects
Pavilion of Light (Mardyke Gardens) –  Darmody Architecture
Percy Lane Mews – ODOS Architects
Pharmacy and Apartment in Clonmel –  The PassivHaus Architecture Company
Restoration of St Mels Cathedral Longford –  Fitzgerald Kavanagh + Partners
Rose Garden House – Triona Stack Architects
Rosie Hackett Bridge – Seán Harrington Architects
St Catherine’s Meath Street, Post Fire Reinstatement & Re-ordering – Howley Hayes Architects
The Haven, Killarney –  Gottstein Architects
The Lake House – Aughey O’Flaherty Architects
The Teagasc College of Amenity Horticulture –  Architectural Services, The Office of Public Works
University of Greenwich – Library and Academic Building  – Heneghan Peng Architects

Related Posts