• Wednesday , 11 December 2019

Stamp of Approval for Public Buildings

Four of Ireland’s most outstanding contemporary public buildings – The Lewis Glucksman Gallery, Cork;  Cork Institute of Technology, Fingal County Hall and Croke Park Stadium – are celebrated on a new set of stamps which also take pride of place in the forthcoming, limited edition Irish Stamp Yearbook 2013.

The four stamps were designed by Zinc Design Consultants. The Lewis Glucksman Gallery at UCC, Cork (60c), is an outstanding example of contemporary public building design for Arts/Culture purposes. Designed by O’Donnell + Tuomey Architects, it won an RIAI Irish Architecture Award and the AAI’s Downes Medal in 2005.

The Cork Institute of Technology in Bishopstown (60c) is a remarkable structure which was designed by de Blacam and Meagher Architects.  It received the RIAI Best Educational Building Award in 2007.

Fingal County Hall in Swords, Co Dublin (90c), is an outstanding example of the new generation civic offices in Ireland and it is noted in terms of its sustainability. It received an award from RIAI in 2007 and was designed by Bucholz McEvoy Architects.

Croke Park Stadium in Dublin’s north inner city (90c) is an outstanding example of modern stadium design and it ranks as one of Europe’s finest arenas. Designed by Gilroy McMahon Architects, it was awarded the RIAI Gold Medal.

The four stamps and a First Day Cover may be viewed or purchased at irishstamps.ie and at the GPO, Dublin and main Post Offices.    The Irish Stamp Yearbook will be available in early November.

A spokesperson for An Post said there is strong demand for the new stamp set from collectors in Ireland and abroad as well as from those with an interest in architecture and design. “These stamps showcase the world-class work of four top Irish architecture firms and the potential of contemporary architecture for enhancing the environment”, she added.



Related Posts