• Monday , 21 October 2019

Winners announced for the AI Student Writing Prize


Huge congratulations to the winners of the Architecture Ireland Student Writing prize This writing competition was open to all students of architecture and architectural technology on the island of Ireland. The objective of the prize is to nurture and recognise the importance of writing in architecture. With the generous sponsorship of Forbo Ireland the overall prize fund was €2500. 

The winners were announced at the RIAI Annual Conference which took place this weekend in the RDS. In front of hundreds of members RIAI President Carole Pollard announced that the standard was so high that the jury decided to chose the two joint winners who were Ronan Power graduate of Cork Centre for Architectural Education (CCAE) and Kirstin O’Regan graduate of Queens University Belfast (QUB). The runners up were Anna Crew (QUB), Aoife Troxel (UCD) and Beibhinn Delaney (UCD).

“Least conspicuous of all, a haven to serious talkers, well-versed lovers and clandestine negotiations, an opaque fishbowl of uncertainty, both coveted and loathed by many. On a wounded lino floor, the turf of the layperson, shattered crisps and beer-mats torn to confetti offer a glimpse into the not so distant past.”

Extract from ‘Universal Satellites’ by winner Ronan Power, M.Arch CCAE

“Until now, architects have designed buildings that attempt to ‘house’ people with dementia. Being taken from your home and admitted to an unfamiliar nursing home environment is a potentially frightening experience that can cause confusion, disorientation and aggression in any patient. As the disease progresses, it is difficult to relate oneself to the world surrounding and often a person can feel lost and alone. This causes a very particular way of experiencing and negotiating space.”

Extract from ‘The Terra Incognita of Dementia in An (in) Authentic World’ by Kirstin O’Regan, M.Arch QUB

The Judging Panel were: Stephen Best (Architect and Lecturer DIT Bolton Street); Dr Ellen Rowley (Architectural Historian and Writer); Michael Hayes (Architectural Graduate and Editor of 2ha); Dr Sandra O’Connell (Editor of Architecture Ireland).

The winning essays will be published in Architecture Ireland and the shortlisted entries on the Architecture Ireland website. We are delighted to announce the Architecture Ireland Student Writing Prize will be taking place again in 2017.

Related Posts