• Thursday , 17 October 2019

Winners of the 2016 RIAI Architecture Awards announced


The Royal Institute of the Architects of Ireland (RIAI) announced Friday, 24 June the winners of 2016 RIAI Architecture Awards at an awards ceremony in Royal Hospital Kilmainham.  Among the winners Civic Offices, Roscommon County Council designed by ABK Architects won Best Public Building; People’s Park Pavilion, Dun Laoghaire, designed by Howley Hayes Architects won Ireland’s Best Commercial/Retail Building while St. Angela’s College, Cork by O’Donnell + Tuomey won Best Educational Building. This year’s RIAI Architecture awards received 180 entries – the highest in five years – across 17 categories with 52 shortlisted. The jury selected 18 Winners, 13 Highly Commended and 24 Commended awards. Full details and images of all the winning projects are available on www.riai.ie.

In advance of the awards, president of the RIAI, Carole Pollard announced that Public Space & Sculpture, Westport by Simon Wall, Architects Section, Mayo County Council was the Winner of the Public Choice Award.  In its ninth year, the popular RIAI Public Choice Award gives the public the opportunity to have their say by voting for their favourite shortlisted project. The Public Choice Award received over 14,000 votes – the highest number of votes in the history of the Public Choice Award. Public Space & Sculpture, Westport won followed by Hollyhill Library in second place designed by Cork City Architect’s Department, and Mallow Urban Heritage Masterplan – Phase 1, Thomas Davis Square in third place designed by Mallow Town Architect, Giulia Vallone and Cork County Council Architects Department.

The RIAI Annual Awards are supported this year by Gerflor flooring company.


2016 Category Winners

Best Commercial/Retail Buildings

Winner: People’s Park Pavilion by Howley Hayes Architects


Winner: Work Between Walls by George Boyle Designs



Best Conservation/ Restoration Building

Winner – Humewood Castle by Henry J Lyons Architects



Best Culture Building

Winner – 5CUBE by De Siún Scullion Architects



Best Education Building 


Best International Building

Winner – Arena for Learning UTEC University, Lima, Peru by Grafton Architects


Winner – St. Angela’s College Cork by O’Donnell + Tuomey



Best Fit Out Building

Winner – LUNA by ODOS Architects



Best Health Building

Winner – Banbridge Health and Care Centre by Kennedy Fitzgerald Architects with Avanti Architects



Best House Building

Winner – Folding House by A2 Architects



Best House Extension

Winner –  Hidden Garden by McCullough Mulvin Architects



Best Housing

Winner – Hazel Lane Mews Houses by Dublin Design Studio



Best Leisure Building

Winner –  Two Courtyards, A Colonnaded Wing and a Farmhouse by Lawrence and Long Architects



Best Public Building


Best Sustainable Building

Winner –  Civic Offices, Roscommon County Council by ABK Architects



Best Public Space/ Urban Design

Winner – Faaborg by Urban Agency/Klar, JDS, Creo Arkitekter , Sloth Møller



Best Research

Winner – Translating Housing: Berlin- Belfast. Innovative Housing Provision: Precedents and Proposals by Lid Architecture



Best Universal Design

Winner – Linn Dara, Child & Adolescent In-Patient Unit by A&D Wejchert and Partners Architects



Public Choice winner

Winner – Public Realm Space & Sculpture, Peter Street, Westport by Simon Wall, Architects’ Section Mayo County Council


Carole Pollard, President of the RIAI, said, “We were delighted to see such an extraordinary diverse range of projects entered into the 2016 RIAI Architecture Awards – which showcases the best in Irish Architecture.

‘The winner of the Public Choice award – Public Space and Sculpture in Westport – brings people together and very much demonstrate the wider contribution made by architects to our built environment as well as celebrating Westport’s win as ‘Best Place to Live in Ireland, and we congratulate Simon Wall Architects Section, Mayo County Council and Westport Town Council for that.

We are also delighted to see the great ambition of Irish architects like Grafton Architects the Winner of the Best Education and International Building with Arena for Learning UTEC University, Lima, in Peru and the Faaborg Swimming Platform in Denmark as Best Public Space/Urban Design designed by Urban Agency/Klar, JDS, Creo Arkitekter, Sloth Moller.’

The Judging Panel for the 2016 RIAI Irish Architecture Awards were:
Robin Mandal Chair (Robin Mandal Architects); Denis Byrne (DBA Architects); Douglas Carson (Carson Crushell Architects); Fionnuala May, Fingal County Architect; and Louise Cotter (Carr Cotter Naessens Architects).

Separate judging panels are established for:
• Emerging Practice – Architecture Ireland
• Best Sustainable – RIAI Sustainability Task Force
• Best Universal Design – RIAI Universal Design Task Force and CEUD

The Main Awards Sponsor are Gerflor.
The Category Awards Sponsors are: Kingscourt Brick (Best Conservation/Restoration); Kingscourt County Manor Brick (Best Housing); Kingspan (Best Education) and Soprema (Best Health)


Related Posts